Trump Signs New Mississippi Disaster Declaration

WASHINGTON, DC (Ben Caxton) — After approving a February disaster declaration for December floods in 10 Mississippi counties, President Donald Trump has issued another federal disaster declaration authorizing aid to seven Mississippi counties following storms and flooding in February and March. Governments and certain nonprofit groups are eligible to be repaid for infrastructure damage, debris removal and overtime pay to emergency workers. The declaration applies to Calhoun, Chickasaw, Clay, Grenada, Lowndes, Pontotoc, and Tishomingo counties. The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency says assistance for individuals could be added later, and MEMA wants the Federal Emergency Management Agency to assess damages in 13 more counties. Mississippi is also approved statewide for aid to reduce or eliminate long-term natural hazard risks.


1 Comment on "Trump Signs New Mississippi Disaster Declaration"

  1. Thankful we have a president that will help us. He is an amazing person and cares about the American people.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.