Republicans Sweep Statewide Races in Mississippi

JACKSON, MS (Ben Caxton) — The only Democrat in statewide office in Mississippi the past 12 years lost a bid for Governor last night and now all statewide offices and Mississippi are held by Republicans. Lt. Governor Tate Reeves defeated Attorney General Jim Hood in the race for Governor and Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann beat Jay Hughes for Lt. Governor. Michael Walton will succeed Hosemann as Secretary of State, Lynn Fitch won the race for Attorney General and David McRae will replace Fitch as state treasurer. Incumbent Agriculture Commissioner Andy Gipson and Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney were re-elected, and John Caldwell defeated Joe Grist for northern district transportation commissioner.


1 Comment on "Republicans Sweep Statewide Races in Mississippi"

  1. WHERE are the local election results??? Did anyone cover Greenville/Washington County?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.