Complicated Texting Laws Make Enforcement Difficult

THE DELTA (Ben Caxton) — Texting while driving is unsafe and according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration nearly half of Arkansas’ reported fatal accidents involved distracted driving. As of August 1st, Arkansas drivers face a fine of up to $250 for the first offense of texting and driving. In Mississippi Highway Patrol officials say the state’s nearly 2-year-old texting law is too complicated and the penalty so minor that most officers write tickets for careless driving instead. Since the law went into effect July 1, 2015, only 148 tickets have been written for texting while driving with a civil fine of $100 per violation.

 

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU

Be the first to comment on "Complicated Texting Laws Make Enforcement Difficult"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*