C Spire Ferriss Trophy Finalists Announced

JACKSON, MS (Ben Caxton) — Finalists for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy, presented to Mississippi’s top college baseball player each year, have been announced by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame. Chosen by Major League Baseball scouts and college baseball coaches in Mississippi the finalists include outfielders Matt Wallner of Southern Miss and Mississippi State’s Jake Mangum, Bulldog pitcher Ethan Small, shortstop Grae Kessinger and third baseman Tyler Keenan of Ole Miss. Fan voting is open through Saturday at cspire.com/ferriss and will account for a weighted 10 percent and votes from scouts and coaches will make up 90 percent of the final tally. The winner will be announced May 20th at a special Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame luncheon. Mangum is a three-time finalist and won the 2016 Ferriss Trophy as a freshman. The award is named for the late Dave “Boo” Ferriss, a Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer and long-time Delta State head baseball coach.


Be the first to comment on "C Spire Ferriss Trophy Finalists Announced"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.