Back to Law School if You Can’t Pass the Bar Exam

JACKSON, MS (Ben Caxton) — Changes in rules for those seeking to become a lawyer in Mississippi could result in a return to law school. The Mississippi Supreme Court says a person seeking to become a lawyer has to pass the bar exam within three attempts or they will have to go back to law school for at least 12 semester hours before they can retake the test. After going back to law school and successfully completing the 12 hours or additional course work, an applicant will be permitted to take the bar exam one additional time. The change comes after the annual passage rate on the Mississippi Bar exam dropped from 79 percent in 2014 to 48 percent last year. The rule change will take effect with the February 2020 bar exam. Statistics show that about 10 percent of applicants who took the exam in February had previously failed three or more times. A 2015 national study reports that that law schools are accepting more poorly-qualified students than ever before.

 


RECOMMENDED FOR YOU

Be the first to comment on "Back to Law School if You Can’t Pass the Bar Exam"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*